2. Fluffy Stuff

Continuing our theme of Frog Software Design Principles (First Post):

First things first –  the fluffy stuff.

How do we want people to “feel” when they are using our software?  Now there’s a question you don’t very often see!

I started playing around with a friend’s ZX81 and Sinclair Spectrum when I was about 10 years old.  Seeing an aptitude my parents bought me a BBC Micro for my 11th birthday. I learned how to program by typing game code in from magazines and then spending hours trying to get them to work. After a while I moved on to inventing my own ideas for games and then building them.

I remember the day that I knew I would work with computers when I grew up. I was 12 years old, sitting at the breakfast bar in the kitchen, hunched over the BBC and scribbling down notes and ideas for a game, when I realised, “Wow, this is great. I can make this thing do anything I want”. To be able to conceive of something in one minute and then invent it from scratch the next is something that I don’t imagine you get to experience in many walks of life. I remember feeling empowered, a sense of pride and achievement, and of course, a sense of focus in my life.

Part of the Frog journey has been answering the question, “Is it possible to build software that makes other people feel like this, without them having to invest months or years learning how to program software?”

We believe the answer is Yes.  We can’t claim that everyone that comes into contact with Frog gets this, but a significant enough number of people in each organisation do, and it turns out that that’s enough to make an impact.  I’ll cover why in the next post.

> 3. Are you Serious?  Emotions in software?

Leave a Reply

